That would be a good (final) post

h5E21BA0FThere are three kinds of idea people. Those with few ideas. Those with many ideas. And then, the rarest of the breeds, those who both have ideas and the initiative to put those ideas into practice. In fact, somebody once said, “Ideas are cheap. Implementation is everything.”

This brings me to the title of this post. In the past six months, my collaborator and I have mentioned dozens of ideas in discussions that would make good blog posts. But therein lay the existential crises in waiting. Is writing about something really implementing your idea – or is it simply quieting the voices in the mind? And if the answer is the latter, what if it turns out that those voices turn out to be pretty boring and unhelpful?

I’ve been a professional writer for nearly 25 years now. People have paid me to communicate their ideas verbally, either in print or spoken, presumably because they were happy with my work. But the dirty little truth I have to come to terms with as a (commercial) writer, is that these are not my ideas. As an advertising copywriter and creative director, I was paid to develop how someone else’s idea was communicated. My realm was the how, not the what.

This small blog is different. Between my collaborator and I, no one pays us to create a message. When we have an idea, we share it, sans any filters put in place by benefactors or bosses. But, like most of the millions of blog posts that fill the magic cloud, we are the very people who probably get the most out of our writing. And – forgive me Ayn Rand – but it feels a little too selfish to me.

Maybe it’s my commercial writing background; maybe it’s my own romantic notion that the purpose of writing is to give the reader something they didn’t have prior to reading the work; but whatever the reason, I felt it fair to give some explanation for the gap in articles to the readers of this blog.

Yes. Posing a provocative thought is providing something. But…I don’t think it’s enough. At least, not for me. My goal is to venture into new territory, fight the dragons, and then return to tell a tale.

So I’m off to find some new dragons. Then, perhaps, the voices from the little monkeys in my head will have something of more universal value to share.

 

 

About SWIRLosopher

The SWIRLosopher is Sean Trapani, a professor emeritus of advertising who - despite a degree in philosophy - has abandoned all reason and is trying to make a living in the wine business.

Leave a Reply

